About Us

AFFIRM is a non-profit corporation comprised of physician leaders who seek to end the epidemic of gun violence through research, innovation and evidence-based practice.

AFFIRM has built a coalition of clinicians and researchers in across medical specialties to work on issues of common concern to all patients and communities at risk of firearm-related violence.

AFFIRM will partner with private sector financial resources to fund public health research of gun violence prevention.

Chief Executive Officer

Christopher E. Barsotti, MD, FACEP

Department of Emergency Medicine, Berkshire Medical Center, Pittsfield MA Chair, Trauma and Injury Prevention Section, American College of Emergency Physicians

Chief Research Officer

Megan L. Ranney, MD, MPH, FACEP

Director, Emergency Digital Health Innovation Program  UEMF Director of Special Projects Associate Professor Department of Emergency Medicine Department of Health Services, Policy and Practice, Brown University Injury Prevention Center of Rhode Island Hospital

Steering Committee

Ronald M. Stewart, MD, FACS

Trauma Medical Director, American College of Surgeons Chair, Department of Surgery University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio

Read More
Frederick P. Rivara, MD, MPH

Seattle Children’s Guild Endowed Chair in Pediatrics Professor and Vice Chair, Department of Pediatrics Core faculty, Harborview Injury Prevention and Research Center University of Washington

Read More
Matthew Miller, MD, MPH, ScD

Co-Director, Harvard Injury Control Research Center Department of Health Policy and Management Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health Director, Undergraduate Program in Health Sciences Northeastern University

Read More
Eric Goralnick, MD, MS, FACEP

Medical Director of Emergency Preparedness, Brigham & Women’s Healthcare Assistant Professor of Emergency Medicine, Harvard Medical School Instructor of Health Policy and Management, Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health Co-Chair, Disaster Medicine Interest Group, Society of Academic Emergency Medicine Chair, Committee on Preparedness, Massachusetts Medical Society

Read More
Albert J. Osbahr III, MD

Member, Board of Trustees American Medical Association Medical Director, Occupational Health Services Spartanburg Regional Healthcare System Spartanburg, South Carolina

Deborah A. Kuhls, MD, FACS, FCCM

Chair, Injury Prevention and Control Committee, Committee on Trauma, American College of Surgeons Chief, Section of Critical Care Department of Surgery UNLV School of Medicine

Read More
Steve Hargarten MD, MPH

Professor and Chair, Department of Emergency Medicine Director, Injury Research Center Associate Dean, Global Health Medical College of Wisconsin

Read More
Rebecca Cunningham, MD, FACEP

Director, Injury Research Center Associate Chair, Research Department of Emergency Medicine University of Michigan School of Medicine

Read More
Rochelle A. Dicker, MD

Professor of Surgery and Anesthesia Vice Chair for Critical Care, Associate Trauma Director David Geffen UCLA School of Medicine Founding Director, Wraparound Project

Read More
David Rosmarin, MD

Director, Forensic Psychiatry Service, McLean Hospital Senior Lecturer in Psychiatry, Harvard Medical School

Read More
Ali Rowhani-Rahbar, MD, MPH, PhD

Assistant Professor, Department of Epidemiology Adjunct Assistant Professor, Department of Pediatrics University of Washington

Read More
Emmy Betz, MD, MPH

Associate Professor, Department of Emergency Medicine Assistant Research Director, Department of Emergency Medicine University of Colorado School of Medicine Core Faculty, Program for Injury Prevention, Education and Research (PIPER) Colorado School of Public Health

Read More

Board of Directors

  • Christopher E. Barsotti, MD, MA, FACEP
  • Erin Reedy
  • Michael J. Dell